NASA and CSA (Canadian Space Agency) announced, during an event on Monday, April 3, from NASA Johnson Space Center’s Ellington Field in Houston, the four astronauts who will venture around the Moon on the Artemis II mission. The crew, comprised of NASA astronaut Reid Wiseman (Commander), NASA astronaut Victor Glover (Pilot), NASA astronaut Christina Hammock Koch (Mission Specialist), and CSA astronaut Jeremy Hansen (Mission Specialist), will be the first to demonstrate NASA’s foundational human deep space capabilities: the Space Launch System rocket, Orion spacecraft, and the ground systems needed to launch them. The approximately 10-day mission will test and stress the Orion spacecraft’s life-support systems to prove the capabilities and techniques required to live and work in deep space in ways only humans can do.

Artemis II Crew Announcement - April 3, 2023